Friday, February 15, 2013

Live Stream of Asteroid DA14 flyby, 2:24 PM est.

UPDATE - 2:28 PM est - It has passed and no one showed live video - even NASA did not show it live as it passed all they did was chat as it was passing!  They put there were streaming live but they did not.  


Here is a link for the live stream of the flyby of the asteroid DA14, expected to pass the Earth at the closest approach in 30 minutes - 2:24 PM est.

http://www.planetary.org/explore/projects/neo-grants/2012da14.html

(I am watching both and this video is not very good at all - go to the NASA link - that one is better)
These guys are just chatting!



Here is the live video stream
 

Here is NASA's video of it:
http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

Slate's list of other places to watch it:



  • NASA will be streaming live views on UStream and on NASA TV starting about a half hour before closest approach.
  • They’ll also have a live view from Marshall Space Flight Center starting around 23:00 UTC (18:00 Eastern).
  • The Massachusetts-based Clay Center Observatory will have a live stream once the Sun sets there, starting around 23:00 UTC (18:00 Eastern). High school students will be running the telescope, which is pretty awesome.
  • The Virtual Telescope Project will have a live feed starting at 22:00 UTC (17:00 Eastern). They have a handy countdown clock on their site, too.
  • The Israeli Baraket Observatory has a live feed starting at 20:15 UTC (15:15 Eastern), with still images updating once or twice a minute.
  • The Planetary Society will be doing a webcast that will include live telescope feeds and other goodies.
  • Bayfordbury Observatory in the UK says they will live-tweet images as they get them, finishing up around 22:00 UTC.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting. I moderate the comments due to a mass amount of spam, even though there is a word verification needed. I also moderate them due to some very foul and violent comments at times. Thank you for understanding. I am not at the computer constantly so sometimes it takes a little longer for the comment to show up. I appreciate hearing from you and you adding your voice to the conversation. Sherrie